• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

How Do I Fix My Bass Machine?

hoag

Reaction score
Howdy!

I have lurked on these forums for a while, and this is my first post. Shout outs to the people who approved my account activation.
I'm restoring a Hohner Tango III M, which was made in Germany. I was told that it was built and bought in the 1930's, but I have not researched this yet. It had many issues upon purchase, many of which I have resolved. It still has a few problems that require attention. I am a veteran luthier, and novice accordion repairman. My current project is the bass machine, and it is just a bit beyond my understanding. This is where I'm hoping you all come in!

Many of the bass buttons were depressed within the machine, when in a resting state. I'm not exactly sure what that meant. The machine also had some jumped pins, which I was able to confidently diagnose. It was the G dominant piston, and the Eb major piston. They were constantly sounding when opening and closing. After locating which pistons were out of place, I decided to disassemble the mechanism for a de-rusting and deep cleaning, using the guidance found throughout these forums. It desperately seems to need the old steel wool treatment. I was also able to confirm that the bass side pallets were not the culprit, after removing the bass machine. They all need a refacing, but my paper solution works until I receive my order from Carini. All is going smoothly, and I have disassembled most of the bass machine. I still have the combs and their structural brackets left to disassemble, but that is a job for daylight.