• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Morris Music - Sheet Music or Tutor Document

• Thread starter Thread starter StumpyJoe
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

StumpyJoe

I am hoping somebody can point me in the right direction:

I am looking for some Morris Dance music for accordion in sheet music form or even better a piano accordion tutor document covering Morris Dance. At this stage I am not playing by ear so actual music downloads/cds, etc are not what I want.

I am new to the accordion, having had one bought for me for my birthday and am struggling a bit co-ordinating things - esp my left hand - I really need some music and/or techniques that I can practise over and over - I'm much more likely to succeed if I'm practising something that I really like.

Thanks Dunlustin - looks like a good start - I'm probably going to have to accompany the Morris music with some kind of a tutor for some basics - there are plenty on the same site - any recommendations appreciated.

what type of morris side are you playing for eg Cotswold, north west, border, rapper requires a different approach . Cotswold in particular has many dance specific tunes. North west uses anything from Scottish pipe marches, English country dance tunes, brass band stuff, music hall stuff etc. Rapper often used Irish or Scottish jigs played on the fast side . BOrder again used fairly well known tunes that are not dance specific but which require the rhythm to be adapted to suite the dance style.