• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Parrot and Chinese Accordions

xingfan1227

Reaction score
Hi all,

So I haven't seen much information about the history of the Chinese-made accordions and would like to provide some information I know. Hope you will find it interesting.

I'm pretty new to the forum so a little bit about myself - I was born in the mid 80s and grew up in China. I started to take accordion lessons at the age of 4-5 and continued to take lessons all the way to middle school. So I was a pretty serious accordion student and passed the 8th level grade test by China's Central Conservatory of Muisic when I was 12, which was pretty decent at the time. Then not long after that, I came to the US.

That was just to say that I did study with the best accordion teachers in China at the time and knew the real situation then :) I see a ton of different brands of Chinese made accordions now, but back in the 1990s, almost all the top players play Parrot brand accordions, made in Tianjin, China. It was pretty much the one-and-only brand peopel chose. There were a couple of other brands, such as Baile and Jiang-Jie. But neither could compete with Parrot.

Around 1997, my dad bought me a 2nd hand full size Parrot accordion for about 3000 yuan, which if using exchange rate, would be only 400 USD, which doesn't seem much. However, 3000 yuan in China back then worth WAY MORE than 400 USD in the US at the time, because the price of things in China then was about 1/10 of the price in the US. My father had a decent middle-class job and his monthly salary was about 800 yuan after tax, so that used accordion would be 4 months of his total earnings! A new one, if I had to guess, was probably around 4000 yuan back then.