• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Ranco Guglielmo Super Bernard with Cassotto

Notario

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So, as discussed in my presentation topic, I've got an antiquity that I would like you, if possible, to help me deciphering. Note that I have little knowledge about an accordion interior. Be aware than I don't master de technical terms and will probably use wrong denominations, so I would be glad if you correct me and teach the good terms.
For a little story, I bought this accordion around 2008 or 2009, at a little accordion tuner in a small remote village in the north of Portugal. The guy is actually super known in the region and all north of the country, having the most known diatonic accordion player of Portugal going to his place to buy, repair and tune accordions.
Anyway, I bought that "machine" that was in a not so good condition in the exterior, but oh boy the magnificent sound it did. I literally fell in love for that accordion and convinced my parents (was around 13 back then) to buy it. Noting that I was coming from a 2 voice Paolo Soprani.
Story that he told was that the accordion was built around 1950' ~ 1960'. It was ordered by the music house of Geneva, directly from Ranco factory. Not knowing how, it ended up in a family in France that let the accordion somewhere in a basement with no protection or carrying box, whitout ever being used. It was considered as "something there taking space", that people would push around with their feet to make some space. The accordion tuner guy then bought it because he knew someone who knew the owners that wanted to get rid of if.