• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Frontalini Accordion Value

• Thread starter Thread starter copple23
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

copple23

Hello all.

I have inherited an accordion off my 93 year old Auntie, seems to be in great nick and plays well, all bass keys seem to work and all piano keys seem fine.

I am just learning and is a bit to much for me with 120 bass keys and has a built in pick up.

Make says Frontalini but not sure from when, my cousin recons she might of got it in the 60's but not sure.

Picture is attached.

Thanks in Advance

Andy

Attachments

• IMG_0527 (Large).JPG
    IMG_0527 (Large).JPG
    417.6 KB · Views: 3,441
Hi Andy,
As you may have realised if youve looked at valuation queries on this forum, the sort of thing that gets said again and again is accordions are complicated things that need maintenance. Old does not generally mean good. Whatever the value of an accordion might be in good playing condition, you have to deduct the cost of putting into good condition from that value. With many old accordions the cost of having the work done exceeds their value in playing condition, so they are only of interest to hobbyists who might do the work themselves.

So, the condition of yours is crucial to its value. If its been in the family a long time it probably needs a full overhaul with all the valves replaced, some tuning, probably pad replacement as well etc.
I did see this one for sale by Allodis, one of the most respected UK accordion dealers. It needs work. Their reputation would have an effect on the price of course.
http://www.accordions.co.uk/SpecDealviewdocs.htm/SDFronta.htm[/url]