• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

How much does felt settle in half a century?

KiwiSqueezer

Reaction score
May I ask the experts here a couple of questions?

I am slowly (oh, so slowly!) rebuilding a couple of accordions. Both date from the 1950-60s and show no evidence of having been worked on before now. They both have 'clattery' actions, the pallets closing somewhat noisily, if allowed to 'free fall'.

I don't know how much noise is acceptable, never having handled a new instrument (I'm pretty new to this...), but, since there's also moth damage to some pallets' felt, I will probably renew all the pallet facing felt and leather.

First question: how much settling or permanent deformation of pallet felt is to be expected? The ancient felt is quite firm, and measures 4mm thick, but is it likely to have started life 5mm thick? Should I replace it with 5 mm or 4 mm thick stuff (I'm resigned to re-aligning the pallets on their rods)?

Secondly, on a CBA, with stepped keyboard (85 buttons), what is a typical treble button travel and force required (weight)? I've read George Bachich's words on setting up piano accordion keyboards, but can't find any advice about button boards, and assume the rules may be different for them.

Afaik the felt+leather comes in thicknesses from very thin up to about 4.5mm. Over time the leather suffers most from being squished. A temporary fix is to brush the leather against the grain to raise the "hairs" and that will reduce the clacking noise, but not for very long. I would suggest to replace by 4.5mm felt+leather.