• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

how/what would you teach a beginner ad hoc ?!

• Thread starter Thread starter smdc66
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

smdc66

a friend of the family (aged approx 60) has an 8 bass scarlatti, 22 key pa which he plays ad hoc self taught (he can't really play and doesnt read music but has a passion and enjoys playing the way he does - his family doesn't so much!)

he doesnt know any tunes

he asked me to teach him to play when i visit (this is once every 2 or 3 months), i agreed to this even though i am a beginner

i have been giving this some thought recently as i would like to add value to his playing and have been thinking of the best things to teach and the few ideas i have had are a basic scale , a few key basses , a basic rhythm , some made up treble exercises and leave it to him as i am sure he will continue with the self teaching method .......

<HIGHLIGHT highlight="#bfff80">[highlight=#bfff80]i thought i'd ask (for conversational purposes mainly and picking up the odd tip maybe) what would you teach in this scenario![/highlight]</HIGHLIGHT> {}

Wouldn't it be better for him to play a recognizable tune?
You make it sound as if he's a senile old man that's annoying the family. I assume at only 60 this is far from the truth.
Yep. A simple tune that fits his 8 basses.

forgot to mention he got this pa at xmas (he already has a 2 row button 8 bass)

his passion is italian tunes

he is not senile and still works in his own business (barber's)

just not musical

Is he any better on the 2 row box - if so encourage him to stick with it and forget the piano box!