• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Learning about the Saratovskaya Garmonika--Russian Folk Accordion

vonodoon

Reaction score
Is anyone familiar with the saratovskaya garmonika? I know it is a Russian folk accordion from Saratov, Russia that incorporates bells and buttons and plays in A-flat. Besides that I know nothing else. I'm an amateur accordion player and recently acquired one that was made during the USSR. What are some popular songs? Was it crafted by any specific culture? I can tell there's a lot oIMG_7414.jpgf history to this instrument.
Honestly, I'm inclined to sell this accordion to anyone who appreciates it. As a beginner, I feel like I'd rather have one that plays in a more common key to make learning and jamming easier.

Is anyone familiar with the saratovskaya garmonika?
Hi vonodoon and welcome!πŸ™‚
Here's one in action!πŸ™‚
Apparently, some of them at least, have bells as part of the bass system.

Another glimpse:

One more (and there's many more like these ):

BTW, they come in all sizes (shapes too)!πŸ˜„

Last edited:
Essentially, a Russian take on a single-row melodeon originating from the region of Saratov.
With some extra bells & whistles. Literally.
Traditionally, they had cassotto in the treble side. In fact that's not the only Russian traditional harmonika that had cassotto, they might have invented it well before Germans or Italians started incorporating it in their instruments.

You can use google translate and read this little article.