• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Upgrading from beginner instrument?

Lizpea

Reaction score
Hi! (Apologies in advance as I imagine this is a common question - I'm new on the forum, and cannot find a thread that addresses this).

I started playing accordion when I inherited an instrument back in January. Luckily, this little Morelli is in mostly great condition! I work with a great teacher here in the Driftless, and have made a lot of progress. This instrument has a limited set of registers (two options on bass side, three on the treble). I'm learning a lot and have made a lot of progress through the Galla-Rini and Palmer Hughes books, and have moved on to solo and accordion-club transcriptions that are stretching my skills. As a pianist/multi-instrumentalist, I have some advantages but of course it's a very different animal!

The instrument I have is lovely, and I surely have a lot more to learn skills-wise that I can practice on this accordion...I'm totally hooked. However, I'm casually starting to look at "upgrading" to an accordion with more register/timbral options - right now I'm at the "save money!" stage but I'd love recommendations.

My teacher is also the regional repairperson and has an eye out if anything comes by - in this very German-ish settled area of WI/MN, there are lots of used accordions around, but most have been beaten to death by age and disuse. It's overwhelming looking at places like reverb.com for secondhand instruments as well - so many brands that no longer exist and it's tough to find information - also, I would never purchase something without playing it or having a more experienced player "vet" it.

744333CF-6F20-4713-B521-5F23DE8BA08B_1_201_a.jpeg