• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Piano learning vs. accordion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alans

Reaction score
I have been studying the accordion on and off for four years and have completed Palmer Hughes book five with great
difficulty. I still can't play any of the pieces well and this is a constant source of frustration for me. I have also studied piano
on and off and have reached book two in the RCM syllabus. When I sit at the piano I never feel tension and I find I can
practise easily for at least an hour, but when I try and sit with the accordion 35 minutes is all I can handle. I am always
bewildered by the quick advancement I am able to make with the piano and the pleasure the practise gives me, although the accordion is my passionate and preferred instrument. I could never understand the difference and thought that perhaps it's because we can't see our fingers on the accordion whereas it's much easier to follow on the piano. But I'm at a point now where I don't often look at my fingers on the piano. So last night I started to wonder if my accordion frustration is based on
a few things-the instrument is heavy, I'm strapped in, and playing vertically opposed to playing flatly creates a situation
that is just that more frustrating. Any thoughts on this would greatly help. I'm so tired of Book five of Palmer Hughes that
I just want to be able to move on from it-but I don't want to do this until I really know the pieces in a satisfactory fashion.
I just keep running into the same problems over and over again. It's so frustrating.

Sounds like you are fighting the instrument.
Could be a strap issue, or it could be that your accordion is not ideal for you.