• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Powerbank instead of Batteries for Roland FR1

Tafaner

Reaction score
I'm new here, so sorry if this has been well covered (I did search, but found nothing...)

I'm a jazz/latin player of many years (flute, 7-string nylon guitar mostly) but am just starting out on a CBA adventure - as a complete beginner! And since I haven't grown up with the sounds of acoustic accordions, it's quite natural for me to start with a ROLAND FR1XB for all its documented advantages. I have a lot of stage/audio kit already, so the ability to just "plug in" is a huge advantage for me. And if I ever get good enough to play on stage, I can use my existing wireless rig to move around freely on stage without tripping over wires.

But I have to say that the BATTERY arrangement on these accordions is very poor! Removing a stack of AA cells and recharging every ~5 hours is a step too far for me. So I've instead adopted a POWERBANK of the kind used for powering guitar pedals - basically a Lithium pack with controlling electronics in a small case that can be recharged in situ. My blurry photo shows this attached to the instrument - basically fastened to the outside of the battery door using 3M Dual Lock (a kind of industrial super-velcro). Note that is glued only to the battery door, which is a cheap plastic replaceable part. The instrument is unchanged.