• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

What keys are best to play in for a 12 bass?

ironbiscuit

Reaction score
I'm just starting to learn the 12 bass accordion. What keys are best to play in? Are there any minor keys that sound good by doing the trick where you fake minor chords?

Assuming that your 12 bass has the standard arrangement of Bb, F, C, G, D and A, and their corresponding major chords, then songs in F, C and G work best. Minor keys are hard to play on a 12 bass because there are no true minor chords on the left hand, but you can get around that by either faking minor chords, or by doing what I recommend which is to open the instrument up and use tape to block off the reeds that play the thirds in each chord. This creates a neutral chord that can stand in for both major and minor, and vastly increases the playability of a 12 bass instrument. I did it on my Hohner 12 bass after learning about removing thirds on melodeons, and I don't regret it! I'm not sure what chords you can get by faking, but if you tape off the thirds you can easily play tunes in D, G, C minor etc.. If you need any help I'd gladly offer my assistance!

Do you have a video on how to do this? I'm nervous about opening the box up, but if there was a guide that walked you through it I could do it.

The 12 bass is best in major keys as noted above- it is designed as a basic instrument and can do just fine within those limitations- and then some depending on the player.

https://accordionchords.com/stradella-bass-layouts/12-bass-accordion-chart/ offers you a quick reference to those chords which it can readily offer.