• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Will learning the piano improve my accordion skills?

Jaime_Dergut

Reaction score
Hello there,

I was wondering, does learning how to play the piano helps at improving one's accordions skills? Especially for the piano accordion.

I had this feeling that practicing with a digital piano will help me develop hand independence, but I'm not sure about this. I just started playing the accordion a year ago.

It might be redundant and perhaps I don't truly needed it but I still have this lingering idea in my mind. I thought on buying a digital keyboard with weighted keys (as to develop fingers dexterity and muscle) but only if that will help me to become a better accordionist.

Thanks for your attention.

...does learning how to play the piano helps at improving one's accordions skills? Especially for the piano accordion.
It definitely does.

But I think if the same amount time and effort are spent learning how to (better) play accordion, it helps improving one's accordion skills even more.

Unless you like to play piano of course.

BTW, I also (learn how to) play Anglo concertina and classical guitar.

To improve PA technique, I think it is important to optimise the strength, dexterity and evenness of the fingers. Studying HANON (The Virtuoso Pianist) on your accordion could be good. Working on scales/arpeggios is great too. If you like classical music, Bach is the man for developing the hands.