• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks (Click the "X" to the top right of this message to disable it)

Frequency of accordion tuning

wirralaccordion

Reaction score
How often do you have your accordion(s) tuned? Can you tell if/when your accordion has gone out of tune without actually measuring it?
N.B. I am not talking about re-tuning to achieve a different "cents width" between say M and M+ etc but when you are happy with what you started with and want to stick with that.

I'm with Ike. If you can't notice it being out of tune, leave well enough alone. I have been playing for 69 yrs ( that's not a typo) and have never had an accordion tuned. God knows I have pounded on some that I have. I used to play out 5-6 nights a week. Now I have always had good quality accordions with hand made reeds, but nonetheless I've never had any sent out for tuning. I know I'm going to get a rash of xxccxx on this, but that's my experience. Maybe other people have had difference experiences.

I'm with you EMan. .I've never had an accordion tuned ,I would not even know where to get it tuned..I'm sorry to say !! My accordion is acoustic with midi wireless set up and an. Accomps module .. I have not noticed that they are out of tune...All seems ok to me..👍 I'm not saying I've never played a bum note or two or three ?? That was me not the fault of the accordion

It's not out of tune if you don't think it is.

But what of the audience?

So many professional(?) players in dance halls, clubs and on street corners seem to have little appreciation of just how out-of-tune their instruments actually are.
Granted, tune will shift with temperature and humidity, but some of them are positively hurtful.

It's not out of tune if you don't think it is.
Sadly I have to disagree. I'd say "it's out of tune when I can hear it's out of tune", but then people will think I'm a show-off...